When shopping for your diamond, you need to know what you are looking for in a diamond.  If you’re going to buy a diamond to start a tradition in your family, then you will need to know the basic of 4 C’s.

Below is how it is described from The National Association Goldsmith notes:

The 4 C’s

The value of a diamond depends upon four things:




carat weight.

All four of these things must be considered when valuing a diamond and each one can vary greatly. A poor quality large diamond can be worth considerably less than a fine quality diamond of far smaller size.

*The 5th C – Certification - Today in the jewellery industry there is much talk of diamond grading and diamond certificates. Many diamonds of more than half a carat or so in weight are now sold with what is technically a laboratory grading report. This is a report produced by a professional diamond grading laboratory that accurately describes the weight, colour, clarity and other measurable characteristics of the stone.”

• colour – colorless is the most sought after diamond which translates to the grading chart by the GIA (Gemologist Institute of America) as “D, E, F” which is very rare. This chart that the GIA put together is the most known color chart (internationally) based on alphabetical order which starts from D to Z. The best color in a diamond is no color at all, a colorless diamond allows the light to pass through it and bounces back at you like the colors of the rainbow or fire! Color is a result of the composition of the diamond, and it never changes over time. A colorless diamond gives a bright sparkle or fire when you look at it and you see the colors of the rainbow….a colorless diamond is like a clear window allows more light to pass it than a colored diamond. The formation of the colorless diamond ensures that only a few rare diamonds are truly colorless. The whiter the diamond the greater the value. Diamonds that are graded from ‘G, H, I’ are near colorless that can’t be seen by the untrained eye. The difference between from one grade to the other is very subtle and it takes a trained eye and years of experience to color grade a diamond. Should add a NOTE: that the ‘Fancy color diamonds’ does not follow this rule. These diamonds are truly rare and expensive, and can be any color from blue, yellow, pink, black. They are more valuable for their natural color.

This is the example of the  Color Grade:

• clarity – this determines by how many flaws, blemishes and its location in the diamond when viewed 10x (loupe). GIA grades diamond in clarity from Flawless to Imperfect 3. For example, the Diamond shopping network offers you from Imperfect grade 1 to flawless. Most diamonds contains tiny birthmarks which are called “inclusions” An inclusion will interfere with the light that passes, so the less inclusions the beautiful the diamond is. Diamonds are mostly pure carbon, but during the formation process or crystallization other minerals nearby or even other bits of carbon forming quickly may become trapped in the cooling mass. And they show up as the various characteristics which make up the clarity of the diamond. Clarity is measured on a scale ranging from pure (flawless) to heavily included (I-3). The clarity of a diamond is graded by using 10x loupe under good lighting by an experienced grader. The final clarity grade is usually how easy it is to see the inclusion or blemishes for the graders to see. So to round this up, most diamonds contains inner flaws, or inclusion that occurs during the formation process. The visibility, number, size of these inclusions will determine what is called the clarity of this diamond. Diamonds that are clear create more brilliance and more highly prized and priced.

• cut – is probably the most important and most challenging of the 4 Cs. The brilliance of a diamond depends heavily on its cut and its also the most forgotten “C”. Many confuse the diamond cut with the diamond shape, never confuse the two: first, the “shape” of the diamond refers to the outward appearance of the diamond, ie.. round, pear, or emerald. The quality of the “cut” does make a difference in how a diamond looks. Its also very important to understand how this quality affects the properties and values of the diamond. A good cut gives the diamond its brilliance which is that the brightness comes from the heart of the diamond. The angles and finish of any diamond are what determines its ability to handle light which gives the diamond its brilliance.

 • carat weight. – is the unit of weight for all gemstones. One carat is subdivided in 100 “points”, so if a diamond is measured at 75 points, then the weight is ¾ carat in weight or 0.75ct. Or, another explanation is one carat is equal to 200 milligrams (0.2 grams). There are five carats in a gram. Size does matter, but is not a measure of your love. Also keep in mind that the size differences are clearly visible, even to the untrained eye. The word “carat” comes from the seeds of the carob tree pod which are found in tropical climate. These seeds were used to balance the scales in ancient times and to this day with all of our sophisticated instruments can’t detect more than 3 one-thousandths of difference between them. NOTE: Do not confuse “carat weight” with “karat” the method of determining the purity of gold!

This is the example of the Carat Weight:


*The 5th C – Certification – the diamond certificate or sometimes called a grading report is a complete evaluation of your diamond that has been performed by a qualified professional with the help of gemological instrument. Each stone has its own recognizable, individual characteristics which are listed on the certificate. You could call its the diamond “blueprint”. NOTE: a certificate is NOT the same as an “appraisal”. A certificate describes the quality of diamond and does not put a monetary value. An appraisal places monetary value of the diamond but does not certify the quality of the diamond.

Diamonds are the best gemstones to handle white light. When you move it around the light you can see the fire, brilliance of the sparkles that gives off from the light.

When a ray of lights hits the surface of the diamond, part of the ray is reflected back, to whoever is looking at it and its called external reflection. The rest of the ray penetrates through the diamond and deflected towards the center of the diamond and this is known as refraction.  When the ray reaches the insides of the diamond this is called internal reflection. As the ray of light is back up to the diamond it is seen as colors of the spectrum. The property of the diamond to be able to separate the white light into colors of the spectrum is called dispersion.

Below is the image of the facets of a diamond

Image of the facets of diamond

Image of the facets of a diamond



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>